• 1 hour LNG Glut To Continue Into 2020s, IEA Says
  • 3 hours Oil Nears $52 With Record OPEC Deal Compliance
  • 6 hours Saudi Aramco CEO Affirms IPO On Track For H2 2018
  • 8 hours Canadia Ltd. Returns To Sudan For First Time Since Oil Price Crash
  • 10 hours Syrian Rebel Group Takes Over Oil Field From IS
  • 3 days PDVSA Booted From Caribbean Terminal Over Unpaid Bills
  • 3 days Russia Warns Ukraine Against Recovering Oil Off The Coast Of Crimea
  • 3 days Syrian Rebels Relinquish Control Of Major Gas Field
  • 3 days Schlumberger Warns Of Moderating Investment In North America
  • 3 days Oil Prices Set For Weekly Loss As Profit Taking Trumps Mideast Tensions
  • 3 days Energy Regulators Look To Guard Grid From Cyberattacks
  • 3 days Mexico Says OPEC Has Not Approached It For Deal Extension
  • 3 days New Video Game Targets Oil Infrastructure
  • 3 days Shell Restarts Bonny Light Exports
  • 3 days Russia’s Rosneft To Take Majority In Kurdish Oil Pipeline
  • 4 days Iraq Struggles To Replace Damaged Kirkuk Equipment As Output Falls
  • 4 days British Utility Companies Brace For Major Reforms
  • 4 days Montenegro A ‘Sweet Spot’ Of Untapped Oil, Gas In The Adriatic
  • 4 days Rosneft CEO: Rising U.S. Shale A Downside Risk To Oil Prices
  • 4 days Brazil Could Invite More Bids For Unsold Pre-Salt Oil Blocks
  • 4 days OPEC/Non-OPEC Seek Consensus On Deal Before Nov Summit
  • 4 days London Stock Exchange Boss Defends Push To Win Aramco IPO
  • 4 days Rosneft Signs $400M Deal With Kurdistan
  • 4 days Kinder Morgan Warns About Trans Mountain Delays
  • 5 days India, China, U.S., Complain Of Venezuelan Crude Oil Quality Issues
  • 5 days Kurdish Kirkuk-Ceyhan Crude Oil Flows Plunge To 225,000 Bpd
  • 5 days Russia, Saudis Team Up To Boost Fracking Tech
  • 5 days Conflicting News Spurs Doubt On Aramco IPO
  • 5 days Exxon Starts Production At New Refinery In Texas
  • 5 days Iraq Asks BP To Redevelop Kirkuk Oil Fields
  • 6 days Oil Prices Rise After U.S. API Reports Strong Crude Inventory Draw
  • 6 days Oil Gains Spur Growth In Canada’s Oil Cities
  • 6 days China To Take 5% Of Rosneft’s Output In New Deal
  • 6 days UAE Oil Giant Seeks Partnership For Possible IPO
  • 6 days Planting Trees Could Cut Emissions As Much As Quitting Oil
  • 6 days VW Fails To Secure Critical Commodity For EVs
  • 6 days Enbridge Pipeline Expansion Finally Approved
  • 6 days Iraqi Forces Seize Control Of North Oil Co Fields In Kirkuk
  • 6 days OPEC Oil Deal Compliance Falls To 86%
  • 7 days U.S. Oil Production To Increase in November As Rig Count Falls

Breaking News:

LNG Glut To Continue Into 2020s, IEA Says

Alt Text

Gold Prices Could Spike As India Resumes Imports

Gold purchases in India imploded…

Alt Text

Will Ecuador’s Mining Sector Return To Its Golden Days?

Despite the recent political problems…

Technical Review of the Energy Markets – 31st May 2013

Technical Review of the Energy Markets – 31st May 2013

WTI Crude headed lower as expected towards our lower target of 91.39/23 where we predicted  a low for the day but we bounced a little early from 91.65.  

Resistance at 93.90/94.10 held the bounce perfectly as predicted & we should struggle here again today but above here look for a selling opportunity at 94.45/70 with stops above 95.20. 

Immediate support is 93.85/65 with better support at 92.80 & a bounce possible. However a break lower risks a retest of yesterday’s low & support in the 91.65/35 area. The daily chart is still quite negative so keeps stops tight below here for a move towards 90.65 then 90.11/00. Exit shorts & try longs here looking for a low for the week.  

WTI Crude Oil Update - 31.05.13

Brent Crude hit our target for the day of 101.65/35 & we bounced just below at 101.08. If this does not hold today we should retest last week’s low at 100.64 with a break lower to test Fibonacci support at 100.26. Exit shorts & try longs looking for a low for the day, with stops below 100.

Resistance at yesterday’s high of 102.65/85 but above here 103.29 could hold the topside. May be wise to exit longs & try shorts here but on a break higher look for 103.77/92 & a selling opportunity with stops above 104.20.

Brent Crude Oil Update - 31.05.13

Natural Gas for July failed just below resistance at 4.208 but then fell sharply through all support. The outlook remains negative for today with further selling pressure possible. If we hold below 4.047 look for a test of support at 3.970/940. We should start to look oversold in the short term at this stage so a bounce from here is possible. However a break lower cannot be ruled out & targets May lows at 3.897/883.  

Above 4.047 could open the door to 4.097 but we should struggle here. If we do manage to continue higher look for the next resistance at 4.135/147 & a selling opportunity with stops above 4.170.

Natural Gas Update - 31.05.13

Gasoil reached 853.00/852.50 as expected & longs here worked nicely with stops not activated as we did not break 850. Today however the outlook is still quite negative & a break lower is more possible. We do have support at 855 but below here look for yesterday’s low of 851 then a test of last week’s low of 846 & possibly a move as far as support at 844. Exit shorts & try longs here with stops below 841.

If we can hold above 857 we should recover to 860.75/861.25 but above here we run in to yesterday’s high at 864/865. If we continue higher look for resistance at 867 which should hold the topside today.

Gasoil Update - 31.05.13

RBOB Gasoline continued lower as expected to hit the target of 277.04 then bounced from 275.77. We are now testing trend line resistance at 282.25/50 & this should be a tough challenge. However the very short term outlook is more positive so a break higher is possible & could target 284.25/50. If we manage a push higher through here look for the next resistance at 286.27. This is strong resistance for several reasons & is expected to mark the high for the day if tested. Exit longs & try shorts here.

Failure to beat 282.50 keeps the market under pressure for a test of support at 280/279.60 but a break lower risks a move towards yesterday’s low at 275.77. A break lower today then targets support at 274.  

RBOB Update - 31.05.13

By. Jason Sen




Back to homepage


Leave a comment

Leave a comment




Oilprice - The No. 1 Source for Oil & Energy News