• 2 days PDVSA Booted From Caribbean Terminal Over Unpaid Bills
  • 2 days Russia Warns Ukraine Against Recovering Oil Off The Coast Of Crimea
  • 2 days Syrian Rebels Relinquish Control Of Major Gas Field
  • 2 days Schlumberger Warns Of Moderating Investment In North America
  • 2 days Oil Prices Set For Weekly Loss As Profit Taking Trumps Mideast Tensions
  • 2 days Energy Regulators Look To Guard Grid From Cyberattacks
  • 2 days Mexico Says OPEC Has Not Approached It For Deal Extension
  • 2 days New Video Game Targets Oil Infrastructure
  • 2 days Shell Restarts Bonny Light Exports
  • 3 days Russia’s Rosneft To Take Majority In Kurdish Oil Pipeline
  • 3 days Iraq Struggles To Replace Damaged Kirkuk Equipment As Output Falls
  • 3 days British Utility Companies Brace For Major Reforms
  • 3 days Montenegro A ‘Sweet Spot’ Of Untapped Oil, Gas In The Adriatic
  • 3 days Rosneft CEO: Rising U.S. Shale A Downside Risk To Oil Prices
  • 3 days Brazil Could Invite More Bids For Unsold Pre-Salt Oil Blocks
  • 3 days OPEC/Non-OPEC Seek Consensus On Deal Before Nov Summit
  • 3 days London Stock Exchange Boss Defends Push To Win Aramco IPO
  • 3 days Rosneft Signs $400M Deal With Kurdistan
  • 3 days Kinder Morgan Warns About Trans Mountain Delays
  • 4 days India, China, U.S., Complain Of Venezuelan Crude Oil Quality Issues
  • 4 days Kurdish Kirkuk-Ceyhan Crude Oil Flows Plunge To 225,000 Bpd
  • 4 days Russia, Saudis Team Up To Boost Fracking Tech
  • 4 days Conflicting News Spurs Doubt On Aramco IPO
  • 4 days Exxon Starts Production At New Refinery In Texas
  • 4 days Iraq Asks BP To Redevelop Kirkuk Oil Fields
  • 5 days Oil Prices Rise After U.S. API Reports Strong Crude Inventory Draw
  • 5 days Oil Gains Spur Growth In Canada’s Oil Cities
  • 5 days China To Take 5% Of Rosneft’s Output In New Deal
  • 5 days UAE Oil Giant Seeks Partnership For Possible IPO
  • 5 days Planting Trees Could Cut Emissions As Much As Quitting Oil
  • 5 days VW Fails To Secure Critical Commodity For EVs
  • 5 days Enbridge Pipeline Expansion Finally Approved
  • 5 days Iraqi Forces Seize Control Of North Oil Co Fields In Kirkuk
  • 5 days OPEC Oil Deal Compliance Falls To 86%
  • 6 days U.S. Oil Production To Increase in November As Rig Count Falls
  • 6 days Gazprom Neft Unhappy With OPEC-Russia Production Cut Deal
  • 6 days Disputed Venezuelan Vote Could Lead To More Sanctions, Clashes
  • 6 days EU Urges U.S. Congress To Protect Iran Nuclear Deal
  • 6 days Oil Rig Explosion In Louisiana Leaves 7 Injured, 1 Still Missing
  • 6 days Aramco Says No Plans To Shelve IPO

Technical Review for the Energy Markets - 20th February 2013

Technical Review for the Energy Markets - 20th February 2013

WTI Crude Oil did hold just above 95.06/94.97 & headed higher as predicted. We expected a high at 96.90/97.00 and have so far topped out at 96.81. As stated yesterday, we are looking to sell in to shorts here with a stop above 97.50. Go with a break higher looking for a retest of Feb highs at 98.10/24.

We have support at 96.32/28 & we could see a bounce off here if tested this morning. However below here look for 96.00/90 then not much to stop a return to the week’s low at 95.35/20. 

WTI Crude Daily Chart 20.02.13
Click to enlarge.


Brent has failed to get back through 117.60/40 resistance as the outlook weakens. If we do push higher today look for 118.04/15. Very possible we fail here again today but on a break we have a gap to close & tough resistance at 118.42/51. If we manage to keep pushing higher we hit Feb highs at 119.12/17 which are expected to hold on a retest.

The outlook remains weak so below 117.60/40 look for 117.05/116.95 with failure here targeting 116.66/61 then last week’s low at 116.28/19. Good chance of a low here again today with further strong support just below at 115.88/83.

Brent Daily Chart 20.02.13
Click to enlarge.


Gasoil is hovering below 1004 after we just held 1000/999 support yesterday as hoped. However a break lower is more likely today so any longs need a stop & reverse in to shorts below 996 for 991/989 as the next target & support. There is scope for 981/979 perhaps later in the week which would offer an excellent buying opportunity with a low for the correction expected here. 

Resistance is at 1004/05 but above 1006 look for 1010/11 then 1015 with 1018 likely to cap any rally this week.

Gasoil Daily Chart 20.02.13
Click to enlarge.


Natural Gas caught us out with a break through 3.200/202 & then 3.245/250 as we reached 3.285. There is resistance here so we could top out but a break higher cannot be ruled out for a test of 3.320/328. This is the short term 61.8% & 38.2% Fibonacci level as well as last week’s high, but also 21 day & 100 week moving average resistance & with the market over bought in the short term this should cap today. However a break could target 3.383 next. 

Strong support at 3.325 today but below here risks 3.20 then little to stop a retest of 3.140/125. Just below at 3.010/085 is 200 day MA, daily & weekly Fibonacci support & mid Jan lows so we should bottom here. Worth exiting shorts & trying longs with a stop below 3.050.      

Natural Gas Daily Chart 20.02.13
Click to enlarge.


March RBOB could not hold the break of last week’s high at 316.39 & tested 310 support which was predicted to provide a floor & an excellent buying opportunity. This worked nicely as we bottomed at 310.20.  Our first obstacle today is 312.50 then 313.63/313.75 but above here we can try for 316.39/316.91 resistance. A break of 317 then targets 320.50.

Support at 310.20/309.78 could hold again today but below here the 306/305 band is an excellent buying opportunity. 

RBOB Daily Chart 20.02.13
Click to enlarge.

By. Jason Sen




Back to homepage


Leave a comment

Leave a comment




Oilprice - The No. 1 Source for Oil & Energy News