• 2 days PDVSA Booted From Caribbean Terminal Over Unpaid Bills
  • 2 days Russia Warns Ukraine Against Recovering Oil Off The Coast Of Crimea
  • 2 days Syrian Rebels Relinquish Control Of Major Gas Field
  • 2 days Schlumberger Warns Of Moderating Investment In North America
  • 2 days Oil Prices Set For Weekly Loss As Profit Taking Trumps Mideast Tensions
  • 2 days Energy Regulators Look To Guard Grid From Cyberattacks
  • 2 days Mexico Says OPEC Has Not Approached It For Deal Extension
  • 2 days New Video Game Targets Oil Infrastructure
  • 2 days Shell Restarts Bonny Light Exports
  • 2 days Russia’s Rosneft To Take Majority In Kurdish Oil Pipeline
  • 3 days Iraq Struggles To Replace Damaged Kirkuk Equipment As Output Falls
  • 3 days British Utility Companies Brace For Major Reforms
  • 3 days Montenegro A ‘Sweet Spot’ Of Untapped Oil, Gas In The Adriatic
  • 3 days Rosneft CEO: Rising U.S. Shale A Downside Risk To Oil Prices
  • 3 days Brazil Could Invite More Bids For Unsold Pre-Salt Oil Blocks
  • 3 days OPEC/Non-OPEC Seek Consensus On Deal Before Nov Summit
  • 3 days London Stock Exchange Boss Defends Push To Win Aramco IPO
  • 3 days Rosneft Signs $400M Deal With Kurdistan
  • 3 days Kinder Morgan Warns About Trans Mountain Delays
  • 4 days India, China, U.S., Complain Of Venezuelan Crude Oil Quality Issues
  • 4 days Kurdish Kirkuk-Ceyhan Crude Oil Flows Plunge To 225,000 Bpd
  • 4 days Russia, Saudis Team Up To Boost Fracking Tech
  • 4 days Conflicting News Spurs Doubt On Aramco IPO
  • 4 days Exxon Starts Production At New Refinery In Texas
  • 4 days Iraq Asks BP To Redevelop Kirkuk Oil Fields
  • 5 days Oil Prices Rise After U.S. API Reports Strong Crude Inventory Draw
  • 5 days Oil Gains Spur Growth In Canada’s Oil Cities
  • 5 days China To Take 5% Of Rosneft’s Output In New Deal
  • 5 days UAE Oil Giant Seeks Partnership For Possible IPO
  • 5 days Planting Trees Could Cut Emissions As Much As Quitting Oil
  • 5 days VW Fails To Secure Critical Commodity For EVs
  • 5 days Enbridge Pipeline Expansion Finally Approved
  • 5 days Iraqi Forces Seize Control Of North Oil Co Fields In Kirkuk
  • 5 days OPEC Oil Deal Compliance Falls To 86%
  • 6 days U.S. Oil Production To Increase in November As Rig Count Falls
  • 6 days Gazprom Neft Unhappy With OPEC-Russia Production Cut Deal
  • 6 days Disputed Venezuelan Vote Could Lead To More Sanctions, Clashes
  • 6 days EU Urges U.S. Congress To Protect Iran Nuclear Deal
  • 6 days Oil Rig Explosion In Louisiana Leaves 7 Injured, 1 Still Missing
  • 6 days Aramco Says No Plans To Shelve IPO
Alt Text

Is South America Set For A Gold Rush?

A Chinese gold miner is…

Alt Text

Gold Prices Could Spike As India Resumes Imports

Gold purchases in India imploded…

Alt Text

Will Ecuador’s Mining Sector Return To Its Golden Days?

Despite the recent political problems…

Technical Review for the Energy Markets - 14th February 2013

Technical Review for the Energy Markets - 14th February 2013

WTI Crude Oil went for a retest of 98.15/25 highs where we expected prices to top out with over bought indicators flashing in the short term & a bearish divergence on the daily chart. The high was 98.11 so this worked pretty much as expected and we took a tumble to 96.71 support and bounced from here. Today any rally through resistance at 97.37 up to 98.00/24 is seen as a selling opportunity again. However we need to keep stops tight above 98.50 for continued strength up to 99.52.

Below 96.21 we should test 96.63/53 support but below here we see 96.17. This may hold the downside today but watch for a break to target 95.75/65 and then 95.06/94.97.

WTI Crude Daily Chart 14.02.13
Click to enlarge.

March Brent failed at 119.07/17 highs as expected and we now have a small bearish double top pattern. We are now trading the April contract which should test good support at 117.65/55 this morning. If we cannot hold here then look for 117.10 & possibly 116.66/61 today to cover all shorts & look for a bounce.

Above 118.19 we have a roll over gap to fill at 118.42 which should mark the high for today. However above here resistance at 119.00/17 again. A break is not expected but would then target 119.80/120.00. Here we need to exit all longs & can try shorts with a stop above 120.50.

Brent Daily Chart 14.02.13
Click to enlarge.

Gasoil failed at the 1029/32 band this week as expected. As stated, this is a crucial area & we did warn of a top for the bull run here. Any longs need a stop below support at 1011 today as this risks further losses with 1000/999 the next target. Here we exit any shorts & buy in to longs in expectation of a low for this correction. Stops below 995. 

We have some resistance at 1016/17 today but a above here the 1029/32 band should be a major obstacle again today. A close above 1032 is now needed to continue the run to 1037 then 2012 highs of 1045 where bulls could run in to a big obstacle.

Gasoil Daily Chart 14.02.13
Click to enlarge.

Nat Gas bounced right off the 5 month trend line support at 3.220 as expected, where we bought in to longs & this trade worked well as we hit 3.314 & got very close to the target of 3.330. If we push through here today there is scope to test 3.359 resistance this week.

Support today seen at 3.265 and this may hold any drift lower but a break could then allow another test of 3.235/30 trend line support. We can try longs here again, with a stop below this week’s low at 3.207 as we look for an end to the recent weakness now.

Natural Gas Daily Chart 14.02.13
Click to enlarge.

March RBOB tried to break higher but failed at 308.50 before quickly falling back to support at 303.38. This support may hold again if tested today but below here look for 302.17. A break could then take us down to 300.44. 

We will need to see prices back above 306.10 for a chance to test resistance in the 307/308 area. A break & preferably a close above here is unlikely but does open the door to 309.22 which should be a very tough obstacle and could hold a rally for now.

RBOB Daily Chart 14.02.13
Click to enlarge.

Spot Gold fell just short of 1656/57 resistance where we expected a top. We have now retested the 1641/39 support & bounced as hoped, so we have a small bottoming pattern which should push us higher in to the end of the week. First target is 1649/50 then yesterday’s high at 1653.   
Above here today we look for a test of 1656/57 resistance & a high for the day. However a break higher tomorrow is possible for 1661. A push above here then targets 1666 resistance & a selling opportunity. 

1641/39 is good support & we may bounce from here again today but a break signals a move to 1635, possibly a test of December lows at 1627/26.    

By. Jason Sen




Back to homepage


Leave a comment

Leave a comment




Oilprice - The No. 1 Source for Oil & Energy News